Oliver Leicht
[ACHT.]



J4E 4779
Oliver Leicht (as, cl), Norbert Scholly (g), Ingmar Heller (b),
Jens Düppe (dr), Christine Chapman (fr-h, track 05),
Rohan Richards (fr-h, tracks 03, 05, 06, 08, 09),
Christian Jaksjö (euph, bar, tracks 01, 02, 04, 07), Steve Trop (tb),
Ed Partyka (b-tb, tuba)

Tracks 03, 05, 06, 08, 09 recorded August 2003 at the
Musik-Akademie Kürnbach by David Sasowski and
tracks 01, 02, 04, 07 April 2006 at Hansahaus-Studios, Bonn by Oliver Bergner

 

[Acht.] – this is not only the title of Oliver Leicht´s newest CD, but also the name of his ensemble. The saxophone and clarinet player is well-known for numerous CDs and concerts with big bands like the Sunday Night Orchestra, Peter Herbolzheimer´s Rhythm Combination & Brass, Bob Brookmeyer´s New Art Orchestra and from 2005 on with the HR Big Band.

With this CD [Acht.] the musician presents himself for the first time as composer and arranger.

The unusual instrumentation, a jazz quartet plus a brass section, produces a big and yet subtle sound, which goes beyond the scope of a traditional jazz octet. With [Acht.] Oliver Leicht built up an ensemble, which is able to realise complex arrangements as well as improvise like a small band. So his ensemble doesn´t fit in common schemes. It changes between big and small, arrangement and improvisation between form and freedom.

[Acht.] is best described as "two times four".

The quartet around Oliver Leicht, with Norbert Scholly (g), Ingmar Heller (b) and Jens Düppe (dr), and a second quartet of brass players with Christine Chapmann (fr-h), Rohan Richards (fr-h), Christian Jaksjo (euph, bs), Steve Trop (tb) and Ed Partyka (b-tb, tuba).

All musicians are playing in various other bands, for example Till Brönner, the Geir Lysne´s Listening Ensemble, Bob Brookmeyer´s New Orchestra, musikfabrik, the Vienna Art Orchestra, the Ensemble Modern and the Big Bands of the HR, WDR and NDR.

Also this various influences create the interesting and complex sound pattern, which makes his recordings so exciting.

Oliver Leicht
[ACHT.]



J4E 4779
Oliver Leicht (as, cl), Norbert Scholly (g), Ingmar Heller (b), Jens Düppe (dr),
Christine Chapman (fr-h, track 05), Rohan Richards (fr-h, tracks 03, 05, 06, 08, 09),
Christian Jaksjö (euph, bar, tracks 01, 02, 04, 07), Steve Trop (tb),
Ed Partyka (b-tb, tuba)

Tracks 03, 05, 06, 08, 09 recorded August 2003 at the Musik-Akademie Kürnbach by David Sasowski
and tracks 01, 02, 04, 07 April 2006 at Hansahaus-Studios, Bonn by Oliver Bergner

 

[Acht.] – dies ist nicht nur der Titel der neuesten CD von Oliver Leicht, sondern auch der Name seines gleichnamigen Ensembles. Der Saxophonist und Klarinettist ist bekannt durch CDs und Konzerte einer Vielzahl von größeren Formationen wie dem Sunday Night Orchestra, Peter Herbolzheimers Rhythm Combination & Brass, Bob Brookmeyer´s New Art Orchestra und seit 2005 auch als Mitglied der HR Big Band.


Mit seiner CD [Acht.] stellt sich der Musiker erstmals auch als Komponist und Arrangeur vor.

Durch eine ungewöhnliche Instrumentierung, bestehend aus Jazz-Quartett plus tiefes Blech, entwickelt sich ein großer und doch subtiler Klang, der den Rahmen eines herkömmlichen Jazz-Oktetts sprengt. Oliver Leicht hat sich mit [Acht.] ein Ensemble geschaffen, das komplexe Arrangements verwirklichen kann, ohne auf improvisatorische Interaktion einer kleinen Band verzichten zu müssen. Sein Ensemble verweigert damit die Einordnung in gängige Schemata und wechselt zwischen Groß- und Kleinformation, zwischen Arrangement und Improvisation, zwischen Form und Freiraum.

[Acht.] lässt sich am besten vorstellen als „zwei mal vier“:

Ein Quartett um Oliver Leicht, bestehend aus den Musikern Norbert Scholly (g), Ingmar Heller (b) und Jens Düppe (dr), sowie ein zweites Quartett aus Blechbläsern mit Christine Chapman (fr-h), Rohan Richards (fr-h) bzw. Christian Jaksjø (euph,
bar), Steve Trop (tb) und Ed Partyka (b-tb, tuba).

Alle Musiker sind in verschiedenen Formationen zu hören, aus deren Liste nur einige genannt sein sollen: Till Brönner, Geir Lysne´s Listening Ensemble, Bob Brookmeyer´s New Art Orchestra, musikFabrik, Vienna Art Orchestra, Ensemble Modern und nicht zuletzt die Big Bands von HR, WDR und NDR.

Auch aufgrund dieser verschiedenen Einflüsse entsteht ein interessantes und vielschichtiges Klangbild, das diese Aufnahmen so spannend macht.